Florida Department of State

  • Room 316, R.A. Gray Building
  • 500 South Bronough Street
  • Tallahassee, Fl 32399-0250
  • (850)245-6200

Division of Elections

Register to Vote

Who Can Register to Vote

In order to register to vote in Florida, you must:

  1. Be a Citizen of the United States of America (a lawful permanent resident is not a U.S. citizen);
  2. Be a Florida resident;
  3. Be 18 years old (you may pre-register to vote if you are 16 years old, but you cannot vote until you are 18 years old).
  4. Not now be adjudicated mentally incapacitated with respect to voting in Florida or any other state without having the right to vote restored;
  5. Not have been convicted of a felony without your civil rights having been restored; and
  6. Provide your current and valid Florida driver’s license number or Florida identification card number. If you do not have a Florida driver’s license number or a Florida identification card number then you must provide the last four digits of your Social Security Number. If you do not have any of these items, you must write “none” in the box or field.

How to Apply to Register to VoteBack

  1. Fill in the Voter Registration Application (English / Español) online. If you wish, you can print the application and write your information in with a black ballpoint pen.
  2. Print the application out.
  3. Verify that all of the information on your application is complete. The office where you register, your decision not to register, your Social Security Number, your Florida driver’s license number and your Florida identification card number will remain confidential and will be used only for voter registration purposes.
  4. Sign your application. The application requires an original signature because you are swearing or affirming to an oath.
  5. Place the application in an envelope with a first class stamp.
  6. Mail the application to your county Supervisor of Elections. You may also opt to mail or hand deliver the application to any Supervisor of Elections’ office in the state, a driver’s license office, a voter registration agency including an armed forces recruitment office, public library, or the Division of Elections.
  7. If your application is complete and you qualify as a voter, the Supervisor of Elections will mail you a voter information card as official notification that you are registered to vote. Make sure all of the information on your card is correct. If you do not receive your card within 2 weeks, or if you have any questions, call your Supervisor of Elections.
  8. You must be registered for at least 29 days before you can vote in an election.

If the information on the application is not true, the applicant can be convicted of a felony of the third degree and fined up to $5,000 and/or imprisoned for up to 5 years.


How to Change Your Name, Address, Party Affiliation, Update Your Signature, and/or Apply for a Replacement Card Back

If you have already registered to vote in Florida, but need to change your name, address or party affiliation, update your signature, or apply for a replacement card:

  1. Fill in the Voter Registration Application (English / Español) online. If you wish, you can print the application and write your information in with a black ballpoint pen.
  2. Next to box 1, make sure to check the information you wish to change or update:
    • Address Change

      If you move within a county after you have registered to vote, please notify your Supervisor of Elections. You may make the change in person, by phone or other electronic means or by other signed, written notice (e.g., Florida Voter Registration Application). You must provide your date of birth.

      If you move to another Florida county, you must use the Florida Voter Registration Application (English / Español)to change your address. However, if you provide the information directly to your Supervisor of Elections of the county of new residence, you may make the change in person, by phone or other electronic means or by other signed, written notice (e.g., Florida Voter Registration Application). You must provide your date of birth.

      Federal and State laws require you to vote in your precinct of residence.

    • Party Change (list of Political Parties registered in Florida). You can change your party affiliation by any signed written notice such as a voter registration application. It must include your date of birth or voter registration number.
    • Name Change. If your name changes by marriage or other legal process, submit the change in a signed written notice such as a voter registration application. It must include your date of birth or voter registration number.
    • Card Replacement.
    • Signature Update. You must submit signature updates using the voter registration application. In order for the signature updates to be used for signature comparisons in canvassing absentee and provisional ballots, the update must be received before canvassing of absentee ballots begins. Canvassing may begin as early as 15 days before an election.
  3. Print the application out.
  4. Sign your application. The application requires an original signature because you are swearing or affirming to an oath.
  5. Place the application in an envelope with a first class stamp.
  6. Mail the application to your county Supervisor of Elections. You may also opt to mail or hand deliver the application to any Supervisor of Elections office in the state, a driver’s license office, a voter registration agency, an armed forces recruitment office, or the Division of Elections.
  7. If the change is made, the Supervisor of Elections will mail you an updated voter information card. Make sure all of the information on your card is correct. If you have any questions, call your Supervisor of Elections.

If the information on the application is not true, the applicant can be convicted of a felony of the third degree and fined up to $5,000 and/or imprisoned for up to 5 years.


Dates to Remember When Registering to VoteBack

Your Registration Date

For new applicants, your registration date is the date your completed application is postmarked or hand delivered to any Supervisor of Elections’ office in the state, a driver’s license office, a voter registration agency, including an armed forced recruitment office, public library, or the Division of Elections.

When You Can Vote

You must be registered for at least 29 days before you can vote in an election. Since Florida is a closed primary state, only voters who are registered members of a political parties may vote for their respective party's candidates in a primary election. Voters without party affiliation are not eligible to vote for party candidates in a primary election. However, a constitutional amendment adopted in 1998 states that IF all candidates for an office have the same party affiliation and the winner will have no opposition in the general election, all qualified voters, regardless of party affiliation, may vote in the primary election for that office. Party changes must be made by the end of the 29th day before the Primary Election. If you are not registered to vote in the political party for which the primary election is being held, you may vote for nonpartisan candidates and issues.

2014 Voter Registration Book Closing Dates

You can apply to register to vote at any time. However, to vote in an election, you must be registered in the state by the book closing date, which is normally the 29th day before each election. The book closing dates for the 2014 election cycle are:

  • July 28, 2014……………………Primary Election
  • October 6, 2014………………..General Election

Voter Registration ApplicationsBack

Instruction for completing the registration application

Please contact your county Supervisor of Elections for any questions you may have regarding registration.

The voter applications are available in PDF format for viewing or printing. Accessing documents in PDF format requires use of Foxit Reader or Adobe's Acrobat Reader, which may be installed free of charge by clicking on the link. Note: Foxit Reader works best when viewing campaign documents.

If you are using the Google Chrome browser, please be aware that the form may not print properly. We recommend that you download the form to your computer and open it using the Adobe Reader program rather than using Chrome’s built-in PDF viewer.

Florida law does not permit online submission of a registration application. The application must be mailed or hand-delivered.